Sunday, December 28, 2008

Did You Know.......

Q. At a military funeral, the flag is folded with 13 folds for the original 13 states. Each fold also represents something. What are they?

A. When the flag-folding ceremony started, there was no meaning to each fold. Since then, though, some people have attributed patriotic or religious meanings to each fold:
First fold: a symbol of life.
Second: a symbol of belief in eternal life.
Third: in honor of veterans who died on duty.
Fourth: represents mankind’s weaker nature and need to trust in God.
Fifth: a tribute to the United States.
Sixth: for where Americans’ hearts lie.
Seventh: a tribute to the American armed forces.
Eighth: a "tribute to the one who entered in to the valley of the shadow of death," and to honor mothers.
Ninth: a tribute to womanhood.
10th: a tribute to fathers.
11th: For Jewish citizens, to represent the lower portion of the seal of King David and King Solomon
12th: for Christian citizens, to glorify the Father, the Son and Holy Ghost.
13th: When the flag is completely folded, the stars are uppermost, to remind people of the national motto, "In God We Trust."

No comments: